Monday, July 29, 2013

Food and Drink Directory 2013 FAQs | Coeliac UK

No. You do not have to limit yourself to products listed in the Food and Drink DirectoryCoeliac UK’s key source of information listing thousands of foods that can be included in a gluten-free diet. .


The gluten-freeWhen a food has less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten so it is safe for people with coeliac disease to eat. diet is made up of naturally glutenA protein that is found in the cereals wheat, barley and rye. -free foods such as fruit and vegetables, meat, fish and poultry, eggs, cream, milk, rice, potatoes, pulses and beans. Other foods available include gluten-free substitute products you can get on prescription, supermarket ‘free from’ aisles and health food stores. Also you can eat processed foods which happen to be gluten-free such as ready meals, sauces and yoghurts.


You can tell whether a pre-packed food is gluten-free by reading the ingredients list. All pre-packaged food bought in the UK are covered by the current EU-wide food labelling legislation. This means that any ingredients which contain gluten and is used as a deliberate ingredient in a product must be listed on the ingredients list, no matter how much is used. Manufacturers will name the particular grain for example; wheat, rye, barley, oats, or some will use the word gluten as well, such as, wheat gluten. This information must be declared in the ingredients list, whereas the allergy advice box is only a recommendation and is not compulsory. Therefore it is important to check both the ingredients list and the allergy advice box.




Source: http://www.coeliac.org.uk/gluten-free-diet-lifestyle/choosing-safe-foods/food-and-drink-directory-2013-faqs

No comments:

Post a Comment